Here’s who’s running for office in West Virginia during the 2024 election • West Virginia Watch (2024)

  • Election 2024
  • Government

Four prominent Republicans and a Democratic mayor are among the eight people who have officially filed in the race to be West Virginia’s next governor.

The candidate filing period for the 2024 primary election ended Saturday, Jan. 27. Candidates must have filed in person or postmarked their certificate of announcement prior to midnight.

Among the Republicans who have filed to replace Gov. Jim Justice are Attorney General Patrick Morrisey, Secretary of State Mac Warner, business owner Chris Miller and former state delegate Moore Capito. Steve Williams, a Democrat and the mayor of Huntington, is also running.

Jim Justice, who’s been the state’s governor for two terms, will run for Sen. Joe Manchin’s seat in Congress.

The primary election is May 14. The general election day is Nov. 5.

Here’s a look at the candidates for statewide offices in West Virginia:


Moore Capito, Republican. Capito is a former Republican state Delegate representing Kanawha County, the son of U.S. Sen. Shelley Moore Capito (R-West Virginia) and the grandson of the late West Virginia governor Arch Moore.

Kevin “KC” Christian, Republican, of Chloe.

Chase G. Linko-Looper, Mountain Party. Linko-Looper is a disabled combat veteran who served in the U.S. Army Reserves, including a tour in Afghanistan.

Chris Miller, Republican. Miller, of Huntington, is owner of the Dutch Miller Auto Group and the son of U.S. Representative Carol Miller.

Patrick Morrisey, Republican. Morrisey, an attorney, is West Virginia Attorney General.

Mitch Roberts, Republican, of Poca.

Andrew “Mac” Warner, Republican. Warner is an Army veteran and the current West Virginia Secretary of State.

Steve Williams, Democrat. Williams is the mayor of Huntington and a former member of the West Virginia House of Delegates.

Secretary of State

Thornton Cooper, Democrat. Cooper is an attorney in South Charleston.

Kenneth Reed, Republican. Reed is a pharmacist and former member of the Morgan County Commission and the state House of Delegates.

Doug Skaff Jr., Republican. Skaff is business owner, former Democratic House minority leader and the president of HD Media, which publishes the Charleston Gazette-Mail and the Huntington Herald-Dispatch.

Kris Warner, Republican. Warner is executive director of the state Economic Development Authority and brother to current Secretary of State Mac Warner.

Brian Wood, Republican. Wood is the longtime Putnam County Clerk.

State auditor

Caleb Hanna, Republican. Hanna is a former member of the state House of Delegates.

Mary Ann Roebuck Claytor, Democrat. Claytor is a St. Albans resident and former auditor in the State Auditor’s Office.

Eric Householder, Republican. Householder is a small business owner and the majority leader for the state House of Delegates.

Mark Hunt, Republican. Hunt is a Charleston attorney and state senator representing Kanawha.

Tricia Jackson, Republican. Jackson, of Harpers Ferry, is a member of the Jefferson County Commission.

State treasurer

Larry Pack, Republican. Pack is the acting State Revenue secretary and a former senior advisor to Gov. Jim Justice. He formerly served in the House of Delegates.

Commissioner of Agriculture

Kent Leonhardt, Republican. Leonhardt, a Blacksville farmer and Marine, is the current state Agriculture commissioner and a former senator.

Roy Ramey, Republican. Ramey is a small farmer and retired Army officer.

Josh Higginbotham, Republican. Higginbotham is a former member of the House of Delegates.

Attorney General

John J.B. McCuskey, Republican. McCuskey is an attorney and the current State Auditor. Prior to being elected auditor in 2016, he served two terms in the House of Delegates.

Ritchie Robb, Democrat. Robb is an attorney and the former mayor of South Charleston.

Mike Stuart, Republican. Stuart is the former U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of West Virginia and a current member of the state Senate, representing Kanawha.

Teresa Toriseva, Democrat. Toriseva is an attorney in Wheeling.

U.S. Senate

Brian Byrd, Republican.

Don Blankenship, Democrat. Blankenship is the former CEO of Massey Energy. He spent a year in prison after he was convicted of conspiring to violate federal mine safety and health standards at the Upper Big Branch Mine, where 29 miners were killed in an explosion in April 2010. He ran for Senate in 2018 as a Republican and for president in 2020 as a member of the Constitution Party.

Glenn Elliot, Democrat. Elliot is the mayor of Wheeling.

Jim Justice, Republican. Justice is governor of West Virginia.

Zane Lawhorn, Republican. Lawhorn is an optometrist in Princeton.

Don Lindsay, Republican.

Bryan McKinney, Republican. McKinney is a senior sales manager in the robotics industry.

Janet McNulty, Republican. McNulty works in retail.

Alex Mooney, Republican. Mooney is a member of the U.S. House of Representatives since 2014.

Zachary Shrewsbury, Democrat. Shrewbury is a Marine veteran and an organizer.

U.S. House of Representatives

Derrick Evans, Republican. Evans was elected to the state House of Delegates. He pleaded guilty to a felony civil disorder charge for participating in the Jan. 6, 2021 riot at the U.S. Capitol.

Carol Miller, Republican. Miller has been elected to Congress since 2018 and previously served in the state House of Delegates from 2006 to 2018.

Chris Bob Reed, Democrat.

Jim Umberger, Democrat. Umberger is a Vietnam combat veteran who served in the Army. He works in mental health services and is the former administrator for the Greenbrier Center.

Dennis “Nate” Cain, Republican. Cain is an Army veteran and a defense contractor in cybersecurity engineering.

Joseph (Joe) Earley, Republican. Earley, of Bridgeport, is an Army veteran.

Alexander Gaaserud, Republican, of Elkins.

Chris “Mookie” Walker, Republican. Walker is a retired West Virginia Air National Guard brigadier general.

Riley Moore, Republican. Moore is the current state treasurer and a former member of the House of Delegates.

Steven Wendelin, Democrat. Wendelin is a Navy veteran.

Supreme Court Justice — Division 1

Haley Bunn, nonpartisan. Bunn is a justice of the state Supreme Court.

Supreme Court Justice — Division 2

Charles S Trump IV, nonpartisan. Trump is an attorney and state senator.

Intermediate Court of Appeals

Elgine Heceta McArdle, nonpartisan. McArdle is a Wheeling attorney and the former chairwoman for the West Virginia Republican Party.

Mychal S. Schulz, nonpartisan. Schulz is an attorney in Charleston.

Ryan White, nonpartisan. White is a Charleston attorney and former member of the Kanawha County Board of Education.


Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our website. AP and Getty images may not be republished. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of any other photos and graphics.

Here’s who’s running for office in West Virginia during the 2024 election • West Virginia Watch (2024)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Rueben Jacobs

Last Updated:

Views: 6115

Rating: 4.7 / 5 (57 voted)

Reviews: 88% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Rueben Jacobs

Birthday: 1999-03-14

Address: 951 Caterina Walk, Schambergerside, CA 67667-0896

Phone: +6881806848632

Job: Internal Education Planner

Hobby: Candle making, Cabaret, Poi, Gambling, Rock climbing, Wood carving, Computer programming

Introduction: My name is Rueben Jacobs, I am a cooperative, beautiful, kind, comfortable, glamorous, open, magnificent person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.